2014 Election Results

General Election November 4, 2014

Unofficial until canvassed, 100% Reporting, Voters Registered: 227,660

School Board Member at Large (SSD #1) (Elect 2)

DON SAMUELS4828028.47%
IRA JOURDAIN1880811.09%

Results By Precinct

School Board Member District 1 (SSD #1)

JENNY ARNESON1279997.48%

Results By Precinct

School Board Member District 3 (SSD #1)

SIAD ALI1001896.02%

Results By Precinct

School Board Member District 5 (SSD #1)

JAY LARSON824546.58%
NELSON INZ921252.04%

Results By Precinct

QUESTION 1 - Filing Fee for Elected Offices

Shall the Minneapolis City Charter be amended to increase the filing fees for candidates seeking City elected offices from the current fee of $20 for each office to $500 for the office of Mayor, $250 for the office of Council Member, $100 for the office of Board of Estimate and Taxation Member, and $100 for the office of Park & Recreation Commissioner and, as an alternative to payment of a filing fee, allow a candidate to submit a petition of voter signatures as provided in state law?


Results By Precinct

QUESTION 2 - Remove Mandatory Food requirements for Wine Licenses

Shall the Minneapolis City Charter be amended to remove the requirement that businesses holding on-sale wine licenses in the City must serve food with every order of wine or beer and to remove mandatory food to wine and beer sales ratios?


Results By Precinct

Primary Election August 12, 2014

Full results for all Primary contests are available on the Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State site.
The City of Minneapolis has a contract with Minneapolis Special School District No. 1 to administer elections on their behalf, and thus is directly administering the school board races that appear on the ballot in the 2014 Primary and General Elections.

Special School District No. 1 - At-Large Seats

Two seats to be filled
Top four vote getters advance

CandidateTotal Votes
Rebecca Gagnon11,888
Don Samuels10,562
Iris Altamirano8,661
Ira Jourdain2,249
Doug Mann2,199
Soren Christian Sorenson1,727
Andrew Minck1,132

Candidates Rebecca Gagnon, Don Samuels, Iris Altamirano, and Ira Jourdain move forward to the General Election to be held on November 4, 2014.

Abstract of Votes Cast for Special School District No. 1

Recount between candidates placing 4th and 5th conducted Aug. 26, 2014

Recount Recap Memo
Recount Results

2014 Special Elections

A special election was required due to the resignation of Third District Commissioner Gail Dorfman on February 28, 2014. Under Minn. Stat. § 383B.031, which applies only to Hennepin County, if there is a vacancy of more than six months, a special election is required. The statute further specifies the timeline for the Special Primary (April 29th) with the Special General to follow two weeks later, on May 13th.

Commissioner District 3
The Third District is comprised of 35 precincts in the southwest quadrant of Minneapolis, the entirety of St. Louis Park.

The result of the special general, as certified by the Hennepin County canvassing board:

May 13, 2014 Special General Election for Hennepin County Commissioner District 3

CandidateTotal Votes
Anne Mavity2,927
Marion Greene3,401

Candidate Marion Greene was declared the unofficial winner of the seat for the Third District Hennepin County Commissioner. Her term will run through January 5, 2015. Candidate filing for the next term of office beginning in January of 2015 was then open from May 20 until June 3, 2014.

See Special Election Results Statistics.

April 29, 2014 Special Primary Election for Hennepin County Commissioner District 3

CandidateTotal Votes
Anne Mavity1,768
Bob Reuer90
Ben Schweigert1,564
Bob Again Carney Jr.157
Ken Kelash439
Marion Greene2,247

Candidates Anne Mavity and Marion Greene moved forward to the Special General Election to be held on May 13th.

Results By Precinct

See Special Election Primary Results Statistics.

Elections & Voter Services
City Hall, 350 S. 5th St., Room 201
Minneapolis, MN 55415