To minimize direct contact with others, the CDC encourages you to vote by mail. All Minnesota voters are eligible to vote by mail. It’s easy to vote by mail, just as long as you plan ahead a bit.
Due to a recent court action (in late June), some of the requirements for voting by mail have changed. These affect witness requirements and the deadline for returning your ballot. Currently, these changes ONLY apply to the August 11 State Primary. The changes are reflected throughout all information below.
We recommend applying for a mail ballot no later than 10 days before an election.
The online ballot application for the November general election is available now. We will begin mailing out ballots on September 18.
We recommend you apply for a ballot no later than 10 days before Election Day. This gives you the best chance to get your ballot in the mail and still have time to mail it back or drop-it off.
You can apply after this date, but each day increases the chances you will not be able to receive and return your ballot by the deadline.
Fill out this application for a ballot and return it by mail, in-person, fax or email.
Mail or in-person: Minneapolis Elections & Voter Services, 980 E Hennepin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Email: [email protected]
All voters will receive a postage paid envelope to use to return their mail ballot. As Election Day gets closer, we offer additional options for returning your mail ballot.
Use the postage-paid envelope to return your ballot. We recommend mailing your completed ballot back at least 7 days before Election Day to ensure your vote counts.
For the August 11 State Primary, your ballot will count as long as it is postmarked on or before Election Day (August 11) and is received in the mail no later than two days after Election Day (by August 13). This is a change from previous election law requiring mail ballots to be received by Election Day.
For the August 11 State Primary, your ballot will only count as long as it arrives at our office no later than 8 p.m. on Election Day (August 11).
If you would rather drop your mail ballot off in person, you may bring it to our office at 980 E. Hennepin Avenue during regular business hours, Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Minneapolis voters may also drop mail ballots off at Hennepin County Elections at the downtown Hennepin County Government Center skyway level (300 S. 6th Street). The Hennepin County hours may differ from ours.
Important items to remember when returning your ballot:
You can track the status of your ballot and confirm that it was received and counted.
In some narrow circumstances, you can choose someone to pick up and return a ballot for you.
It’s not hard to vote by mail, but don’t leave it to the last minute. Apply for your ballot now. After you vote, send back your ballot right away so that it will count.
You need a witness.
You need a witness* when you complete your ballot. The witness can be either a registered Minnesota voter or a notary from any state.
*For the August 11 State Primary ONLY: If you are registered to vote at your current address, you will not need a witness. If you have moved, changed names or need to register for the first time, you will need a witness to sign your envelope.
Fill out all paperwork, including any voter registration application.
If we send you a voter registration application, complete and return it with your ballot even if you think you are already registered.
Return your ballot as soon as you can.
Mail everything back as soon as possible using the postage-paid envelope. Anything we get after Election Day can’t be counted, regardless of the postmark date*.
*For the August 11 State Primary ONLY: Your ballot will count as long as it is postmarked on or before Election Day (August 11) and is received in the mail no later than two days after Election Day (August 13).
Confirm your ballot was counted.
Confirm your ballot was received and counted online.
The witness can be either a registered Minnesota voter or a notary from any state.
For the August 11 State Primary: If you are registered to vote at your current address, you will not need a witness. If you have moved, changed names or need to register for the first time, you will need a witness to sign your envelope.
For the November 3 General Election: You will need a witness when you vote and complete your ballot. The witness can be either a registered Minnesota voter or a notary. Your witness must sign the signature envelope and list their address. Notaries should write their name and title, sign the signature envelope, and affix their notary stamp.
Plan ahead. To be safe, we recommend you return your ballot in the mail no later than seven days before Election Day. You can also drop off your ballot in-person (see information above).
For the August 11 State Primary: Your ballot will count as long as it is postmarked on or before Election Day (August 11) and is received in the mail no later than two days after Election Day (by August 13). This is a change from previous election law requiring mail ballots to be received by Election Day. Please note that if you deliver your ballot in-person to our office, it still must be returned by 3 p.m. on Election Day.
For the November 3 General Election: We must get your ballot back by Election Day. For your ballot to count, we must physically have it in hand on Election Day. Your ballot will not count if we get it after Election Day, even if it was postmarked on or before Election Day.
No, you don't need to pay for postage. The envelope to return your ballot in is postage-paid.
No, you cannot. Minnesota law does not allow you to return your mail ballot to your polling place. If you are worried or are certain that we will not receive your mail ballot on Election Day, you have the option of voting at your polling place. When you check-in the poll worker can see if we have already counted your mail ballot or not. If we have not, you will be given a new ballot to vote with. If we later do receive your mail ballot it will not be counted.
Yes. You can confirm we have received and counted your ballot using the online tracking tool.
Each and every ballot we receive must be inspected closely by two election officials for the following:
Your ballot application and signature envelopes are kept on file for 22 months in case any questions or concerns arise that need to be investigated.
We must check that you and your witness filled out the signature envelope correctly. If you did not fill out the signature envelope correctly, we will mail you replacement materials, including an explanation for why your signature envelope was rejected. Or, if there are fewer than five days before Election Day, we will try to contact you. In this case, you may need to vote early in-person (time permitting) or at your polling place on Election Day.
Contact our office and ask for a replacement ballot. We will cancel your original ballot. If it there is not enough time to get a new ballot, completely cross out the name of the candidate you accidentally marked. Then mark the candidate you prefer. Do not initial your corrections.
Contact us to get a replacement ballot. We will cancel your original ballot.
Do not return your original ballot, even if you eventually find or receive it. Only return your replacement ballot.
You can ask to cancel your ballot until the close of business two weeks before Election Day. After that time, you cannot cancel your ballot.
Contact us to cancel your ballot. Depending on how much time is left, your options are to have a new ballot mailed, vote early in-person, or vote at your polling place on Election Day.
Special absentee balloting procedures are available to voters in hospital or Minneapolis health-care facilities. Call Minneapolis 311 or 612-673-3000, for additional information. TTY/TTD 612-673-2157
Military and voters living abroad can use a special process to vote absentee.
Contact Minneapolis 311 Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–7 p.m. for election and other city information. From outside city limits, dial 612-673-3000.