Guide to campaign finance reports

Learn who has to report, when to report, and how.

Legal disclaimer

Election law is the final authority in all matters.

This page has general information about campaign finance reports. It is not legal advice or a comprehensive list of campaign finance laws. We recommend candidates seek legal counsel to ensure compliance. For questions using this site, including help viewing or submitting finance reports, contact us at 612-331-8683 or mpls.campaigns@minneapolismn.gov.

Campaign finance law change

Minneapolis city and school board candidates are subject to a different chapter of election law (as of January 1, 2022). 

Minnesota Statutes 211A

Before 2022, Minneapolis city and school board candidates submitted campaign finance reports under Minnesota Statutes Chapter 383B. Effective January 1, 2022, you are subject to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 211A.

211A governs campaign finance reporting requirements for local candidates; Minneapolis candidates were previously subject to a different set of laws than local candidates from other jurisdictions. 

If you submitted reports prior to 2022, you will notice some changes. A few of these include: 

  • You will submit reports to our office instead of Hennepin County (*Note: ballot question committees now file with the State Campaign Finance Board). 
  • You must start reporting if you raise or spend more than $750 beginning January 1, 2022. Under the previous chapter of law the threshold was raising or spending more than $100. 
  • There is not a separate process to register your campaign. Submitting your first report (the Initial Report) enters you into the campaign finance system.
  • The report format and contents are simpler and ask for fewer details. 

 

Which reports do I need to submit?

Potential candidates who have raised or spent a certain amount have to submit reports.

Submit reports if you raise or spend more than $750

If you are a potential candidate and raise or spend more than $750 in a calendar year, you submit an Initial Report and continue reporting until you qualify to submit a Final Report.

Required reports if you raise or spend more than $750

Report typeDuePeriod covered
Initial Report Within 14 days of raising or spending more than $750 in a calendar year (starting after January 1, 2022). Everything to that point.
January 31

Annually on January 31 starting the year after your Initial Report. Required even if your campaign is over or had no activity since the last report.

End of the last report through January 26.
Final Report

Once your debts are settled and assets are less than $100.

End of the last report through 5 days before you submit this report.

 Additional reports due if you file for office

Report typeDuePeriod covered
Pre-Primary 10 days before the primary election (if no primary, due based on when it would have been held). End of the last report through 15 days before the primary election. 
Pre-General  10 days before the general election. End of the last report through 15 days before the general election.
Certification of Filing 7 days after the general election. *Certifies you submitted all reports.
Post-General  30 days after the general election. End of the last report through 25 days after the general election. 
January 31

January 31. You must complete this annually even after your campaign is over until you qualify to submit a Final Report.

End of the last report through January 26.
Final Report

Once your debts are settled and assets are less than $100.

End of the last report through 5 days before you submit this report.

What information do I provide in the reports?

Each report asks for the same information but is submitted at different times of the campaign cycle.

Report contents

By law, you must report your contributions (in-kind and cash), expenses, and cash-on-hand. You must itemize donations over $100 and include the name, address, and employer of the person who donated. 

Go to Submit a campaign finance report for more details on report contents.

Donor requests to redact address due to safety concerns

A donor who has contributed more than $100 can send us a signed written statement that withholding their address from the financial report is required for their safety or the safety of their family.

Are there contribution or spending limits?

This information is taken from the state Campaign Financial Report template. You are responsible for complying with election law, including any restrictions or limitations not listed below.

Contributions

A "contribution" is anything of monetary value that is given or loaned to a candidate for a political purpose. “Contribution” does not include a service provided without compensation by an individual. 

Contribution limits

  • You cannot take aggregate contributions made or delivered by an individual or committee above $600 in an election year or above $250 in a non-election year.
  • If you are seeking election from a district with a population above 100,000, you cannot take aggregate contributions above $1,000 in an election year or above $250 in a non-election year.

Prohibited transfers to other campaigns

You cannot take contributions from the principal campaign committees of any candidate for legislative, judicial, or state constitutional office. In addition, you cannot make contributions to the principal campaign committee of any candidate for legislative, judicial, or state constitutional office unless it’s made from your personal funds.